An Understanding

You’re so difficult

and demanding

and inconvenient

You call me to rise,

while others rest.

You implore me to toil,

while others play,

to fast

while others feast,

to give, go without, go further.

And for what?

 

I dread the push and pull

of Your call,

the waves beating my skin,

knocking my feet from under me,

The work of the work.

 

But I know,

Beyond what I feel,

 

When I rise, You meet me.

When I labor, You come along side.

When I push through the pull,

When I beat back the waves,

Lift my feet and swim

You match my effort,

You make me stronger,

I reach You, and You give me rest

 

You are not safe, no,

but You are good,

and You make me better.

Leave a Reply

